Old China Town KL The Malaya Study Group Selangor SG 87

The Malaya Study Group exists for collectors of the stamps, postal stationery and postal history of the states of Peninsular Malaysia which until 1963 formed the Federation of Malaya, including the Straits Settlements of Malacca, Penang and Singapore, the Federated Malay States, Negri Sembilan and Sungei Ujong, Pahang, Perak and Selangor and the Unfederated States, Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Perlis and Trengganu. Many MSG members also collect & study all of modern Malaysia, Singapore, and the island of Borneo, comprising additionally  Sabah, Sarawak, Borneo, Labuan, and the states of Brunei & the peninsular state of Singapore. Study of the whole area so often adds to understanding and appreciation of the philately of Malaya. The Society has a JOURNAL, "The Malayan Philatelist" and a NEWSLETTER supplied free to members, EXCHANGE PACKETS, AUCTIONS and has produced a number of significant PUBLICATIONS on the stamps and postal history of the area.

Annual General Meeting & Auction

27 March 2010

by Nick Hackney, pictures by Nick Hackney


The Annual General Meeting of the Malaya Study Group began with the Chairman's Opening remarks following a minutes silence for the members who have left us during the year.

Peter Cockburn & Dominic Morris during the AGM


The very successful 50th Anniversary Year had been marked by a dazzling series of meetings in Malaysia, Singapore, Australia, and of course in the UK. Special congratulations were offered to David Tett who had organised the display at the Royal, and organised the special commemorative booklet which had been sent to all MSG members.

Len Stanway's book "Malaysia and The Federation of Malaya – their stamps and postal stationery (volume 1)" was selling out very very fast, only 10 copies remained in the UK, and a reprint was in hand.

"MALAYA POSTAL STATIONERY 1937 - 1947" had sold 132 copies, and again a reprint is in hand.

There were no apologies for absence, and the Minutes of the 2009 meeting were approved.

A special plaque, in Selangor Pewter, was presented to Gordon Peters who had stepped down as Editor of The Malayan Philatelist after forty distinguished years, which had seen the Journal grow to the preeminent position it enjoys today. All members enthusiastically thanked Gordon for his unceasing work for the Group is so many roles, as Chairman, and latterly as Editor of the Journal.



The Chairman, Peter Cockburn, announced that he had decided to stand down this year and commended as his successor Mrs.Susan McEwen.

The Officers reports, already circulated to the members were adopted without amendment.

The new officers were then proposed, seconded and elected.They are:

Chairman, Mrs. Susan McEwen

Hon Secretary, Dominic Morris

Treasurer, Carl Stott

Packet Secretary, Charles Keele [with a vote of thanks to Alan Price who has retired from the post]

Distribution Secretary, Rob Holley

Publications Officer & Editor The Newsletter, MacMClaren

Membership Secretary, David Tett

Auction Manager, Roger Barry

Editor, The Malayan Philatelist, Len Stanway

Contributing Editor, The Malayan Philatelist, Richard Hale

Production Manager, Peter Cockburn

Publications Officer, Bill Pain

Webmaster, Nick Hackney

Committee members, Graham Coles, Joe Robertson, Andrew Norris

The Hon.Auditor was reelected




The Malayan Philatelist is in need of your contributions, both longer pieces, and especially smaller pieces which help greatly in filling pages.

The Programme for 2010 was discussed and will be published soon.

There were votes of thanks to the Officers, and especially to Peter Cockburn as outgoing Chairman, after years of sterling service. He has now moved into the new role of Production Manager.

The next AGM will be held on 26th March 2011.

A report of the Auction will be published in the Newsletter.

Roger Barry, Peter Cockburn & Carl Stott conducting the Auction


MSG Members at the Auction











The Malaya Study Group website was originally created by the late John Morgan, to whom we are indebted for his pioneering dedication to the Group.

WebMaster: KewSoft Web Director Nick Hackney (malayastudygroup@hotmail.co.uk) Telephone & Fax: (44)-(0)208 876 7567