Old China Town KL The Malaya Study Group Selangor SG 87

The Malaya Study Group exists for collectors of the stamps, postal stationery and postal history of the states of Peninsular Malaysia which until 1963 formed the Federation of Malaya, including the Straits Settlements of Malacca, Penang and Singapore, the Federated Malay States, Negri Sembilan and Sungei Ujong, Pahang, Perak and Selangor and the Unfederated States, Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Perlis and Trengganu. Many MSG members also collect & study all of modern Malaysia, Singapore, and the island of Borneo, comprising additionally  Sabah, Sarawak, Borneo, Labuan, and the states of Brunei & the peninsular state of Singapore. Study of the whole area so often adds to understanding and appreciation of the philately of Malaya. The Society has a JOURNAL, "The Malayan Philatelist" and a NEWSLETTER supplied free to members, EXCHANGE PACKETS, AUCTIONS and has produced a number of significant PUBLICATIONS on the stamps and postal history of the area.


Informal Members Meeting in Singapore, January 5th 2014

Photographs & Report by Richard Hale

8c stamp (SG 38) - a new First Day of Issue???

An informal meeting of six MSG members, four of whom are from Malaysia was held in Singapore on Sunday 5th January 2014. As the Malaysians had had to drive to Singapore the first course consisted of curry. Serious business completed, numerous philatelic items were shown. Among these was a censored cover from Johore Bahru to Australia dated 2 MR 1940, a Friday. Bearing an 8c stamp (SG 38) and marked First Day Cover it would seem to indicate the Gibbons catalogue date of issue shown as February is incorrect. Various other interesting postal history items and stamps from members holdings were shown and enjoyed.


The names of those attending are: for image 5 (clockwise from left) Henry Ong, Kuo Chee Yoong from Batu Pahat, Richard Hale, Ong Kuee Hong (Johore Bahru), Johnson Sau (Johore Bahru)and Tan Chee Hui (Kuala Lumpur).



clockwise from left Kuo Chee Yoong from Batu Pahat, Ong Kuee Hong (Johore Bahru), Johnson Sau (Johore Bahru)and Tan Chee Hui (Kuala Lumpur), Henry Ong.

That's All Folks





The Malaya Study Group website was originally created by the late John Morgan, to whom we are indebted for his pioneering dedication to the Group.

WebMaster: KewSoft Web Director Nick Hackney (malayastudygroup@hotmail.co.uk) Telephone & Fax: (44)-(0)208 876 7567