Old China Town KL The Malaya Study Group Selangor SG 87

The Malaya Study Group exists for collectors of the stamps, postal stationery and postal history of the states of Peninsular Malaysia which until 1963 formed the Federation of Malaya, including the Straits Settlements of Malacca, Penang and Singapore, the Federated Malay States, Negri Sembilan and Sungei Ujong, Pahang, Perak and Selangor and the Unfederated States, Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Perlis and Trengganu. Many MSG members also collect & study all of modern Malaysia, Singapore, and the island of Borneo, comprising additionally  Sabah, Sarawak, Borneo, Labuan, and the states of Brunei & the peninsular state of Singapore. Study of the whole area so often adds to understanding and appreciation of the philately of Malaya. The Society has a JOURNAL, "The Malayan Philatelist" and a NEWSLETTER supplied free to members, EXCHANGE PACKETS, AUCTIONS and has produced a number of significant PUBLICATIONS on the stamps and postal history of the area.


March 5th 2016 - The Rosevear Award


The Rosevear Award

The Rosevear Award was established in the memory of John Rosevear by his widow, to be presented to those who have given long service to the Group. John Rosevear was the President of the USA based Malaya Study Group 1963-71. He organised the formation of the UK Branch of the MSG on 15th March 1963, and had many important roles in the MSG when the base of the MSG moved to the UK, on Howard Selzer's retirement.

Peter Hooper was only the fourth recipient of the award, previous ones being Derek Clayton in 1992, Bill Reeves in 1993, and Rob Holley in 2005. Pete Hooper joined the MSG in 1970, playing an active part for many years. He was Distribution Secretary from 1989 - 1992. He was a Committee Member from 1982 to 1991. He carried out many activities fror the Group behind the scenes in many roles.

The award, an engraved Selangor Pewter plaque, has the arms of the States around it. It was presented to Peter by Nick Hackney, before the AGM, as Peter was unable to attend for health reasons, and he presented his apologies to the members, thanking them and the Committee for the award..

The Rosevear Award


Peter Hooper receiving the Rosevear Award from Nick Hackney



Peter and Gloria Hooper with the award




That's All Folks





The Malaya Study Group website was originally created by the late John Morgan, to whom we are indebted for his pioneering dedication to the Group.

WebMaster: KewSoft Web Director Nick Hackney (malayastudygroup@hotmail.co.uk) Telephone & Fax: (44)-(0)208 876 7567